D Magazine Sidedish

Cinnamon Roll Savior: Society Bakery

Posted on October 8th, 2009 10:21am by Sarah Eveans
cinnamon roll from Society Bakery cinnamon roll from Society Bakery 

Yesterday I asked you guys where to get a good cinnamon roll around here (hint: not at Donuts). I got lots of great suggestions I can’t wait to try. I think Tootsie’s will be one of the first on my list, since we will be in our new offices Monday (!) and I will probably need a treat. I’m bummed that I went to the Fair last weekend before I knew about the greatness of the cinnamon roll there, especially because I searched for something I wanted to eat all night (besides a corny dog, of course) and ended up with taffy. TAFFY.

Anyway, I wanted to give a shout-out to Society Bakery, who sweetly delivered a box of cinny rolls to the office yesterday after reading the blog. This was very nice of them, and they came just in time for lunch. My first thought was, “uh oh, we might have an icing situation here.” I thought it might be–GASP–cream cheese frosting. While their version of a CR looks like a cupcake, the icing not as thick as it appeared, and sweet and buttery and delish. Not a glaze, but still good. The goo factor (looking at you, Brad), was medium, but I still got a good sticky coating on my fingers when I peeled the layers of the roll away (my prefered method of eating the CR). Overall, this was a slightly non-traditional CR but I liked it. A lot. Next up: Tootsie’s, or possibly Bubba’s this weekend.