Deep in the Gut of Texas – “Society Bakery: Queen of Cupcakes and the Song Within My Heart”

Hilarious blog write-up!  Thank you Mr. Walker!

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Society Bakery: Queen of Cupcakes and the song within my heart

 
I talk to people all the time who say they love cupcakes. And who doesn’t? Sure, cupcakes are the trendiest things since Pogs, but it’s hard to deny how happy you feel after the perfect blend of cake and frosting. Surprisingly, none of these “cupcake lovers” I know have ever been to Society. Society is the reigning champ in the Dallas cupcake scene. Squashes Sprinkles, destroys Dimples, conquers The Cupcakery. It’s simple, no one beats Society.

Their frosting is basically 100% whipped pleasure. I have no idea what it’s like to do drugs, but I am pretty positive this stuff could get even the hardest junkie to drop the habit and prance around in a field full of tulips, whistling show-tunes while holding a cupcake in each hand. Even those people banging 7 gram rocks, Winning. They’re that good.
The flavors rotate often, but some are consistently found behind the glass counter. I have always been in love with the Spice flavor, whose warm coziness makes me yearn for Christmas no matter what time of year it is. The Italian Cream’s sweet smoothness gives me chills, the Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip is difficult even to write about without tearing up. The Boston Blackout, Banana Chocolate Chip, and Key Lime at one time or another have each inspired me to become a better man, no longer able to settle for dry Betty Crocker garbage.
No one should even be allowed to state they like (or dislike) cupcakes until they have eaten from the Garden of Earthly Pleasures, otherwise known as Society Bakery.
 
Posted by Daniel Walker at 6:04 AM